The association

Occitan Research Centre for Ethnographic Resources and Activities

Founded in October 1979, our association works for the preservation and the promotion of the occitan cultural heritage.
Our activities cover different fields: research, preservation and documentation, publication and distribution, training and creation.

Research

Our association leads important work carrying out research in the fields of ethnology and ethnomusicology mainly in Occitania, not only studying Occitan communities but also migrant ones. We also carry out research in Portugal, Brazil and other countries around the world.

Preservation and documentation

Our information centre gathers together all of the digitised documentary collections (about 7 000 hours of sound recordings, 40 000 pictures, audiovisual documents and manuscripts) as well as numerous published books and phonograms dealing with minorized cultures and oral traditions around the world. The whole documentary collection is catalogued, computerised and available to be consulted by all.

Publishing and distribution

Parallel to its research, the association has produced numerous publications, particularly within the collection “Mémoires sonores,” which now includes more than sixty works: cassettes, books, box sets, compact discs, films, CD-ROMS…
They are available in a bilingual format (French/Occitan) and greatly contribute to the diffusion of Occitan culture. Other collections of books and CDs have also been created, such as Cosina Nòstra (books of Occitan recipes), “Actes de colloque“, “Virolet” (musical tales for children), and the La Talvera collection (CDs of the group).

See all the catalog [FR].

Training

Our association offers activities aimed at children, training workshops dedicated to learning the Occitan language, dances, singing, musical instruments. It also offers lectures, colloquia on themes linked to its research, as well as several exhibitions on various themes. In 2011, our association acquired an additional building called l’Ostalon which allows it to house groups for school activities, colloquia and lectures. It is also a place for exhibitions and an information centre open to the public.

Read more about animations [FR].
Read more about exhibitions [FR].

Creation

While thoroughly exploring the traditional Occitan repertoire, the music group La Talvera also works on the creation of a musical and poetical repertoire rooted in the present day. Alongside singing, the musicians mostly play the “craba” (a type of bagpipe from the Montagne Noire region) the “graile” (an oboe from the Monts de Lacaune area), the fife, the clarinet…

Shop

Open all year round (23 Grand rue de l’Horloge, 81 170 Cordes sur Ciel)

Schedule :
– from monday to friday : 9h-13h, 14h-18h (winter) or 19h (summer)
– saturday : 9h-13h, 14h-18h (winter) ou 10h-13h, 14h-19h (summer)
– sunday (summer and school holidays) : 10h-13h, 14h-19h

L’association

Centre Occitan de Recherche, de Documentation et d’Animation Ethnographiques

Créée en octobre 1979, l’association oeuvre à la conservation et à la valorisation du patrimoine culturel occitan.
Ses activités s’étendent dans plusieurs domaines : recherche, sauvegarde et documentation, édition et diffusion, formation et création.

Recherche

L’association mène un important travail de recherche ethnologique et ethnomusicologique, essentiellement en Occitanie, touchant non seulement les communautés occitanes mais également les communautés immigrées. Nous effectuons également des investigations au Portugal, au Brésil ou dans d’autres pays du monde.

Sauvegarde et documentation

Notre centre de ressources regroupe l’ensemble des fonds documentaires recueillis et numérisés (environ 7 000 heures de collectage sonore, 40 000 images, documents audiovisuels et manuscrits) ainsi que de nombreux ouvrages et phonogrammes édités concernant les cultures minorisées et les traditions orales du monde entier. L’ensemble des fonds documentaires est répertorié, informatisé et consultable par tous.

Édition et diffusion

Parallèlement à ses recherches, l’association a réalisé de nombreuses publications particulièrement dans le cadre de la collection « Mémoires sonores » qui compte aujourd’hui plus de soixante-dix parutions : cassettes, livres, disques, films vidéo…
Elles sont disponibles en version bilingue (français/occitan) et contribuent largement à la diffusion de la culture occitane. D’autres collections ont été également créées telles que « Cosina nòstra » (livres de recettes occitanes), « Actes de colloque« , « Virolet » (contes musicaux pour enfants), collection « La Talvera » (disques du groupe)…

Voir tout le catalogue.

Formation

L’association organise des animations pour les enfants, des stages de formation autour de la langue occitane, des danses, du chant, des instruments de musique.
Elle propose également des conférences, des colloques sur des sujets liés à ses recherches, ainsi que plusieurs expositions sur différents thèmes.
En 2011, l’Association s’est dotée d’un nouveau local baptisé l’Ostalon, ce qui lui permet d’accueillir des groupes pour les animations scolaires, les colloques, et les conférences. Il s’agit également d’un lieu d’expositions et d’un espace de documentation ouvert au public.

En savoir plus sur les animations.
En savoir plus sur les expositions.

Création

Le groupe de musique La Talvera, tout en explorant de fond en comble le répertoire traditionnel occitan, oeuvre par ses concerts et ses bals, à la création d’un répertoire musical et poétique ancré dans le monde actuel. Outre le chant, les instruments utilisés sont essentiellement la ‘‘craba’’ (cornemuse de la Montagne noire), le ‘‘graile’’ (hautbois des Monts de Lacaune), le fifre, la clarinette…

Boutique

Ouverte toute l’année (23 Grand rue de l’Horloge, 81 170 Cordes sur Ciel)

Horaires :
– du lundi au vendredi : 9h-13h, 14h-18h (hiver) ou 19h (été)
– samedi : 9h-13h, 14h-18h (hiver) ou 10h-13h, 14h-19h (été)
– dimanche (été et vacances scolaires) : 10h-13h, 14h-19h